[Valid RSS]
March 22, 2023, 5:33 pm
GIZ Bangladesh’s training held on SDG localisation in Khulna ছোটদের সহজ প্রোগ্রামিং শিক্ষায় প্রকাশিত হল বাংলা স্ক্র্যাচ বই Ditching Russian gas no way to reach climate goals : Putin চট্টগ্রামে নিরাপদ খাদ্য বিষয়ে প্রচারনা কর্মসূচি সমাপ্ত Samsung brings month-long smartphone campaign On September 6–7, Vladimir Putin will make working trip to Vladivostok Two Russian embassy workers killed in ‘suicide bombing’ Shocked & devastated by the horrific attacks : Justin Trudeau  SSC, equivalent exams begin Sept 15: Dipu Moni Ten killed in Canadian stabbing spree Russia wants UN to pressure US : media Daraz Bangladesh Anniversary Campaign – Now LIVE! realme offers upto BDT 3400 off on occasion of Daraz’s 8th anniversary General Pharmaceuticals employees will receive insurance from MetLife চট্টগ্রামের কলেজিয়েট স্কুলে নিরাপদ খাদ্য বিষয়ে প্রচারনা কর্মসূচি শুরু Bangladesh a secular country, immediate action is taken whenever minorities are attacked: PM  Two more mortar shells from Myanmar land in Bangladesh OPPO launches killer device A57 in 15-20K price range ShareTrip and Grameenphone join hands to offer exciting travel privileges ড্যাপ ২০২২-২০৩৫ এর পরিপূর্ণ বাস্তবায়নের দাবী বিআইপির

Murmu leads after first round of vote counting in India presidential elections  

Bangladesh Beyond
  • Updated on Thursday, July 21, 2022
  • 210 Impressed

Murmu leads after first round of vote counting in India presidential elections  


NEW DELHI, July 21, 2022 (BSS) –


The ruling BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) Presidential candidate Droupadi Murmu is leading against opposition nominee Yashwant Sinha after the end of the first round of counting of votes that began at 11 am today.

Murmu secured 540 out of the 748 votes of the MPs, while Opposition nominee Yashwant Sinha bagged 208 votes while votes of 15 MPs were declared invalid, Returning Officer of the Indian Presidential Election P C Mody said.

“These are figures for parliament (votes), please wait for the next announcement,” said PC Mody who is also the Secretary General of the Rajya Sabha. 

According to Mody, eight MPs did not cast their votes in the presidential election.

With each MP having a vote value of 700 in this presidential election, Murmu secured a total of 5,23,600 votes, which is 72.19 per cent of the total valid MP votes, indicating some cross-voting in her favour, reports said quoting officials.

On the other hand, Sinha’s total vote value stood at 1,45,600, which is 27.81 per cent of the total valid votes.

The counting for the second round of votes of the Member of Legislative Assemblies (MLAs) has begun, officials said.

The voting took place on July 18 that was completed in a peaceful manner. Droupadi Murmu is seen to have a clear edge in the contest with several regional political parties extended support to the NDA candidate. 

If she got elected, Murmu, the former Jharkhand Governor and a resident of Indian state of Odisha, will be the first tribal and second woman president after Prativha Patil (From 2007-2012) of India. 


Read us@googlenews



More News
© Copyright: 2020-2022

Bangladesh Beyond is an online version of Fortnightly Apon Bichitra 

(Reg no: DA 1825)

Developed By Bangladesh Beyond